Houghton Primary School

"Working hard to achieve our best"

Meet The Governors

Our governing body has members elected or appointed as governors for the school. They are made up of parents, staff and local community (co-opted) and each governor serves a term of four years. Governors can be re-elected or re-appointed at the end of their term of office for a further four years.

Instrument of Governance at Houghton Primary School

Our governors meet together as a whole once every half term. They also work in two sub-committees: The Teaching, Achievement, Behaviour and Safety (TABS) committee and the Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety (FPPS) committee.

Scroll down to access minutes from meetings.

Name Governor Category Responsibilities Term of Office Other educational establishments Governed Business Interests Relationships with School Staff/Governors Attendance record: 2017-18
Marina Hilton Parent

Chair of Governors

Safeguarding and Child Protection Link Governor

Standards Committee Member

January 2021 None None  None 100%
Gail Stapleford Co-opted

Vice-Chair of Governors

Chair of FPPS Committee

Personnel Lead Governor

Pupil Premium Link Governor

January 2021 None None None 100%
Darren Rice LA governor

FPPS Committee Member

Premises, Health and Safety Link Governor

September 2022 None None None Started term of office Sept 2018
Iain Dowling Co-opted

FPPS Committee Member

Finance Lead Governor

March 2022 None None None 83%
Liz Bligh Co-opted

TABS Committee Member

EYFS Link Governor

March 2022 None None None 83%
Sonia Humby Parent

Chair of TABS Committee

SEND Link Governor

May 2022  None None None 75%
David Sweet Parent

FPPS Committee Member

GDPR Link Governor

May 2022  None None None 100%
Angela Passant Co-Opted FPPS Committee Member May 2023 None None None N/A
Lynsey Tweddle Parent TABS Committee Member May 2023 None None None N/A
Georgina Young Headteacher Attends and reports to all committee meetings N/A None None None  93%
Caroline Lewis Clerk to Governors Attends all meetings N/A Clerk to Great Gidding Primary School Governing Body None None  100%


Minutes are made at every meeting and are in 'draft' form until they have been reviewed and approved by the governing body at the next committee meeting.

Approved minutes for at least the last 3 meetings for each committee are available here before being archived.

Please contact the Clerk to Governors, Caroline Lewis, for archived minutes. This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Full Governing Body Minutes Teaching, Achievement, Behaviour and Safety Minutes Finance, Personnel, Premises and Safety Minutes

03 July 2018

18 September 2018

27 November 2018

15 January 2019

 2nd October 2018

13 November 2018

22 January 2019

 16 October 2018

11 December 2018

Houghton Primary School Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved.